YWCA USA To Celebrate Extraordinary Women Leaders At WOMEN OF DISTINCTiON AWARDS GALA

Melissa Harris-Perry will be the host of the gala event. Ms. Perry is Professor and Maya Angelou Presidential Chair at Wake Forest University, the Director of the Anna Julia Cooper Center on Gender, Race, and Politics in the South, and the Executive Director of the Pro Humanitate Institute at Wake Forest University.

National Domestic Workers Alliance will be presented with the Advocacy and Civic Engagement award; Nordstrom will receive the Corporate Partnership award; New York City Council's Young Women's Initiative will receive the Girls/Women Empowerment award, and Charlene A. Carruthers will receive the Dorothy I. Height Racial Justice Award.

About the Women of Distinction Awards

The YWCA USA Women of Distinction Awards honor women from across the United States who have demonstrated excellence, leadership and integrity in their fields and in the community, serving as role models for other successful women. Nominations from YWCAs across the United States were submitted to identify leaders whose work has truly made an impact on women's economic empowerment and racial justice.

The YWCA USA Women of Distinction Awards include honorees for contributions in four key areas of public life: 1) Civic Engagement 2) Business 3) Philanthropy and 4) Military/Veterans Affairs.


YWCA USA is on a mission to eliminate racism, empower women, and promote peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all. We are one of the oldest and largest women's organizations in the nation, serving over 2 million women, girls, and their families each year. Learn more: www.ywca.org.

Trending Hairstyles

Source : http://www.broadwayworld.com/washington-dc/article/YWCA-USA-to-Celebrate-Extraordinary-Women-Leaders-at-WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTiON-AWARDS-GALA-20170519

YWCA USA to Celebrate Extraordinary Women Leaders at WOMEN OF DISTINCTiON AWARDS GALA
Intrepid Woman: Dara Richardson-Heron, M.D., CEO of the YWCA USA
Local Y announces 2017 Women of Distinction
Pinnacle Awards honor extraordinary women
Malawi: Women of Distinction Awards 2014 in May With More Awards
YWCA Women of Distinction Award Winners 2015
The 2017 Women of Distinction in Manitoba
YWCA USA to Celebrate Extraordinary Women Leaders at Women of Distinction Awards Gala
YWCA USA To Host Women of Distinction Awards Gala Celebrating Extraordinary Women Leaders